dan coutant: guitar and voice
keith bogart: guitar
sean hansen: drums
christian celeya: bass guitar



In the year 1996 the band Joshua was assembled consisting of singer and guitar player Dan Coutant, Bassist Keith Bogart and drummer Chris Cotter. Inspired by bands like Shudder to Think and Jawbox the band wrote and recorded a six song EP for Immigrant Sun records that very same year. Consistent live shows and rigorous self promotion caught the attention of well known independent label Doghouse Records, who released a 4 song self titled EP for the band in 1998. It was then that the band began to tour across the United States and assembled a following which eventually led to the Joshua EP selling well over 5000 copies in just months.

In 1999 Joshua recorded its first album entitled A Whole New Theory with acclaimed producer and former Jawbox frontman J. Robbins. It was during this time that the band added second guitarist Kip Count and drummer Shane Chikeles to their lineup. Immediately following the albums release, Joshua embarked on six months of constant touring supporting such acts as The Get Up Kids and At the Drive In across the United States and embarking on tours of Europe and Japan supporting such bands as Metroshifter and Husking Bee. For these tours, Joshua acquired the services of long time friend Rob Suchan to take on the duties of second guitarist. Rob later left Joshua to form Vagrant Records recording artist Koufax . In 2001 Joshua once again entered the studio to record 3 songs to be released by Canadian based record label Does Everyone Stare?. The EP entitled the Teardrop Trio, was the bands most accomplished work to date. At this point in time the band was once again operating as a three piece. Later that summer, drummer Shane Chikeles left the band to pursue other interests, but not before they recorded their second full length album entitled Singing to Your Subconscious. The record saw the transition of bassist Keith Bogart to guitar, and the addition of Sean Hansen on bass guitar. Immediately following these sessions, the band went out on a six week tour of the United States and Canada to promote the Teardrop Trio EP with long time friends The Big Collapse, fronted by former Shift frontman Josh Loucka.

When the band returned home, they entered the studio with super producer John Agnello (Jawbox, Burning Airlines, Dinosaur jr.) to mix and produce the sessions that were to become the bands new album. This album is without a doubt Joshua's shining moment on record. Their evolution over the past 5 years has led to a sound not unlike the influences mentioned earlier, but broadening the scope to draw up comparisons to more legendary bands such as Big Star, the Posies and Built to Spill. Replacing drummer Shane Chikeles was effortless due to bass player Sean Hansen's proficiency on that very instrument. On bass the band acquired long time friend Christian Celaya. With its strongest lineup and best songs ever, the year 2002 will prove to be huge for a band whose mark has yet to be made to it's fullest.